Summer and things that are not lolita

I don’t want all of my posts to just be about cute things and lolita clothes, but it appears that lately, that is all I have been posting about. So this post will be a lot of things.

First, summer is hot and I have been miserable lately. Lethargic and hungry. I don’t even feel hungry, but my stomach rumbles and growls at me. Is it the weather? Is it that I have suddenly started eating bread again and my metabolism is out of whack? I mean, for a while, I wouldn’t buy bread (I’d still eat carbohydrates every so often though…), just tortillas. I guess I have been lazier about cooking lately so I need to get back on track. It’s just that all my current recipes feel so…boring. I want to eat meat, however it is general expensive.  The past few months, it has been a lot of salad the first week after grocery store day, and then the second week is a mish-mash. I’d probably eat more salad then, however it doesn’t keep well after a week in the fridge.  Maybe on Sunday, I will do some hard core recipe searching.  I wonder if a new cooking anime will air soon; those are so inspiring.

Second,  the mysteries of science remain mysterious. It is officially less than a year from graduation. IF I can graduate on time. Next May is the goal.  I have a lot that I am working on, and it seems my boss has deemed me “good” at Yeast Two-Hybrid assays. The next thing is to test a new-ish candidate. This would require me ordering the cDNA clone and then proceeding to PCR and do various reactions to move it into yeast. But it is more complicated. First, the candidate is something we care about because an outside service did a mass Y2H screen for us, and this candidate popped out. They even told us which amino acids are predicted to bind to our super cool protein.

The cDNA clones available lack part of this binding domain. The part lacking from the binding domain IS present in one of the many isoforms of the candidate, so it’s not like the one fragment isn’t legit. So I am fretting over how to fix it, when my boss has a much simpler solution: just get the entire binding domain synthesized! Even add on the attB ends so I don’t have to do the cloning step! It only cost $200! This should speed up the process by which this candidate is tested.

And then my boss said something about how I can next test all of the mutants of the super cool gene (yup, that’s the plan, although that will be a huge undertaking…so many plates!) and also chop it up to test.

Right now, we have 6 mutants in yeast, MAYBE 7, but they are all point mutations. Two of them are currently known to be weak and pathetic, so I would definitely chop those areas out. Actually, chopping up my super cool gene would not be difficult, but it is downstream experiments I worry about more. Say I make these mutants and do Y2H, what next? If anything is good, we will want to move them to fly stocks for tissue experiments. That alone is a few months, provided you can get the mutation into a pUASt plasmid easily, the injection goes well and you collect the animals with the proper genotypes. If this is something for ME to work on before I graduate, then I need to get chopping.

If the point of chopping is to determine which part of my protein binds to various other proteins, then I can see that with Y2H and some second method to verify (like what though?!).

Third, Fan+Friend has released some dresses from their Tartarus Wall series and I want them. Look at these beauties.

Tartarus Wall Astraea JSK

The Astraea dress, with a crepe chiffon sash that can be attached or worn in different ways. Not a huge fan of the skirt print, but the print on the bodice is GORGEOUS and I love the Greek Goddess theme. This dress might be able to fit a lolita-style silhouette, but otherwise, this is not lolita.

Tartarus Wall Themis Dress

The Themis dress, with crepe chiffon sleeves and skirt piece. It is longer than the other dress, and has a slightly different cut. Same bodice and skirt prints though. Both dresses include broaches with the symbol for Libra and the word Astraea engraved.

Tartarus Wall Series

Ahhhhhhh these are so pretty though! If I was rich, I’d buy all of them, and the Artemis version, which is unreleased (it is supposed to be real silk too, so probably super pricey!). If I was serious about buying these dresses, I would get Astraea in the light blue and Themis in the purple color. Something in my head about the young virgin goddess of innocence fitting light blue and the older sagess of justice fitting a darker color. Actually, Themis is a titaness, and Astraea’s mom!

However, I can’t see these as lolita. Maybe the shorter dress could be classical lolita, but the longer dress would have to be more elegant gothic aristocrat style. I’m not exactly where one would wear these dresses to either. But they are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

