Long Sleepy Week

I am just now barely recovering from Florida- both the mental stress of the meeting and also the physical stress of it. Actually, I ran 2 miles and then slightly under 2 miles two days in a row, so that is probably why I am so physically tired. Also, we are in the middle of a heat wave, so that doesn’t help either.

I received my Clobba Order while I was gone, tried on my dresses and immediately decided I need to go on a diet. I’ll have a full review online soon. I just need to take pictures.

Also received an Amiami order while I was gone, but I haven’t even unpacked that yet. Whoops. That is what weekends are for, right?

Had a lot to do in lab with my High School student and my Undergrad student.  My high schooler is going to be gone the next 2 weeks so I’ll have to keep an eye on her experiments. My Undergrad’s experiments are ready so next week, we (or at least, I) will finish them. However, this means a lot of me going in to lab over the weekend.

Since returning from the meeting, I have been very self conscious and worried about future careers. I would like to work in an industry lab, however the meeting gave me zero hints towards how to do that. I am going to a career workshop next week, so maybe that will help. However, at the moment, I am thinking I should investigate post-docs more closely.  I still plan on trying to get an industry postdoc, and applying for industry jobs as well, but also work on applying for plain ol’ postdocs as well. Along with that, I’ll work on writing a F32 NIH grant (for postdocs. Apparently you shouldn’t write one until you know where you are going), and I would have looked at the options from the NSF if their website wasn’t currently down. Oh well.

After the meeting, where pretty much no one cared about my poster or my work, and the general environment of my lab (where it seems like the newer students who got super productive projects dropped in their lap get all the attention and praise), I was feeling down about being in science at all. Why bother if no one else cares? I know that surely my boss cares at some level (or else he would make me do a different project), but some positive feedback once in a blue moon would be nice.

Maybe I need a few days away from science to collect my thoughts once again.

Leave a Reply

