Cat’s Broom The Secret Garden JSK and High Waist JSK

These dresses arrived while I was out of town. Thus concludes all the lolita dresses I have ordered from Clobba Online this year.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden High Waist JSK

This is the High Waist JSK in white. It’s so pretty. I love the fabric. It is light and has a slight sparkle to it. It’s longer than the other dresses I have.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden High Waist JSK

I love the little gems on the bows. I love the little ribbon tie. I though this dress would have a side pocket like the Normal JSK, but it doesn’t. The description said it would, but I just can’t find them??

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden High Waist JSK

A close-up of the print, however you can’t see the sparkle. Too much sparkle would not be okay. I have always been a fan of roses, so a print with pink roses feels perfect to me.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden High Waist JSK

The back is shirred, which is a blessing because I can barely fit into this. The site said bust fits up to 114cm, and I am quite a bit under that. It’s too hot to try and fit a blouse underneath, but I also don’t plan on wearing this anytime soon either.
Cat's Broom The Secret Garden Normal Waist JSK

The normal waist JSK in lavender. Oh my gosh, I love this dress.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden Normal Waist JSK

Love the bow, like on the other dress. Sadly, part of the bow is attached to the dress (so the bow doesn’t flop over) and it came undone when I tried it on. It was easy enough to re-sew (just a few stitches) but makes me wonder how delicate this dress is. The lacing on the front is literally just ribbon and lace, and I fear that could rip easily.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden Normal Waist JSK

Here is the skirt detail. Love this so much. This fabric is also slightly sparkly as well.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden Normal Waist JSK

The back is shirred, and there is a side zipper and a side pocket (woo!). However, there should be pink ribbon lacing up the back as well, but I removed it. My fears about the lace ripping, and also I couldn’t fit into this dress perfectly.

Again, the sizing says bust should fit up to 109cm. I measured before I ordered, and I measured right after trying it on, and I measured JUST NOW to be sure. I come in under 100cm. I should be able to zip it up all the way. but nope.The zipper comes up about halfway.

The side zipper lacks a hook and loop, so I am considering sewing a few on to help it zip up (I can hold the fabric together and it appears I can fit). However, a more immediate solution is to try and lose a little bit of weight. The past few weeks, I have been more lax in my menu planning and eating habits, plus while I was in Orlando, there was a delicious buffet with so many desserts. It would not hurt to slim down a bit and then try again. If that doesn’t work, then I’ll have to think about how I could alter it slightly, but I’d rather avoid that if possible.

Cat's Broom The Secret Garden Headpeice

There were several options for headpieces that matched the colorway, or just get a pink one that would match both, so I did that. This headband does not disappoint. It is beautiful, and I could probably wear it with another pink outfit (which I do not currently possess but it’s nice to be optimistic).

Very pleased with Clobba as a service (again).Less pleased with the brand Cat’s Broom. I wish these dresses fit better. Even with the part about how it fits better if the clothes are at least 4cm larger than your body for a good fit (which for both waist and bust, I am at least 4cm smaller than the maximum measurements!), these don’t fit well.  I will make this work somehow, but I would be hesitant to order from this brand again. Bummer.

So to conclude, I am going to try to diet, and I don’t plan on spending money on more lolita dresses for awhile anyway because I have my SF trip in a few months and also the sheer terror of graduating next year (my Boss is determined, and I have a committee meeting before the end of September where I’m sure he will remind everyone that I am absolutely leaving in May….). Thankfully, nothing has popped up lately that I am in love with, but I will let you know if something does come up.

I mean, besides the rose themed Angelic Pretty print I saw the other day. I can’t even be mad because I can’t afford that yet. I’ll buy Angelic Pretty after I have a job (a post doc counts…)

Leave a Reply

