Summer Birthday Meetup

Today was the meetup at the Crepe shop. I love crepes. They are basically super thin pancakes filled with sugary goodness, and topped with more sugary goodness. Savory crepes are also a thing, but if I want savory, I may as well get an omelet.

The first outfit from yesterday! I am wearing the Latasa shoes, but every picture I took with them looked awful. Oh well.  I am just wearing the pretty deflated F+F petticoat with this dress (LE&SE Mushroom Forest, not Kingdom, FOREST), which has a built in petticoat too. This needs more poof. I was the least poofy person at the meet.

I dunno, I think I was still pretty cute, even if there is a lot of forehead. (◡‿◡✿)

Drove out to the little crepe shop, where there are tons of different flavors and I kept forgetting which crepe I actually ordered. I would have eaten any of them, really. The one I ordered was actually filled with strawberries and lemon curd, with whip cream on top and raspberry sauce.

There were also macarons, a lemon one and a raspberry one, but they were the tiny ones and I did not get a good picture.  I want to try to make macarons someday.  It is probably more effort than it is really worth, but it seems like the ones I get from shops (or the frozen ones Trader Joe’s has) are never really that good.

Next we went to an antique mall to look at clothes. This store had the BEST selection of vintage clothes I have ever seen! There were legitimate petticoats there, as well as some cute cardigans and pretty flower skirts.  Apparently this place has several floors worth of stuff (just the one floor of clothes though).  We didn’t get through the entire shop.

Next, we went to a museum/mall/streetcar station area.  There was free parking at the mall, and we intended to take the streetcar to some cute shops. On the way to the station, we peeked into this tea shop I’ve been curious about. Actually, this particular shop had a booth at the Midwest Tea Festival last year, and I was able to try some tea but wasn’t able to buy any because the booth was too crowded.  Today, we were able to sample some teas, and then I bought some sample packs of tea.

So we rode the streetcar down to the farmer’s market and other shops. It’s July in the Midwest, so it is already kind of hot, but also, everyone and their mother also wanted to ride the streetcar so we were packed in like sardines.  But eventually we got to our stop and went to the cute Japanese snack-and-merchandise shop, Yoki.  I think the best way to describe it is a smaller, more expensive version of Daiso, but also with legitimate Hello Kitty and misc anime merchandise. INCLUDING A NESOBERI PLUSH OF MY BEST AQOURS GIRL.

I was looking for her at Nakakon this year only to learn she wasn’t released until after Nakakon, so I though for sure that I’d either have to go online and pay shipping or hope they might show up next year at Nakakon (if I am even able to go….). But no, she was right there, and now she is mine. I am glad I am comfortable enough with this group that I can be a bit of an anime dork in front of them.

After buying some goods, we went to a bubble tea place for drinks (I got cherry limeade actually) and be asked by strangers about what we were wearing. Shortly thereafter, we parted ways.

Here are the rest of the goodies I bought today: mini samples of tea (tangerine blossom red, pao blossom white, honeysuckle white and jasmine green) and some sheet masks (one of the other people wanted to split a buy-3-get-1-free deal).

Today was a lot of fun.  I’m really glad I ended up going after all.  After such a long day, I am pretty tired, but I am still planning on going to the donut meet tomorrow.  I hope that goes well too.

Leave a Reply

