Summer Crafts

I visited some friends this weekend, and one of them complimented the blue strawberry tote bag I made a few months ago. This inspired me to make the one with pink fabric today.

It is pretty much the same as the other bag, except I used pink strawberry fabric, a different lace trim, and the fusible interfacing is medium weight instead of heavy duty. Therefore the bag itself is less stiff.

Last time, it took me 2 days to make a bag, but I got this one completely done today. Yay! I never used the strawberry felt plushes I made before, so maybe I will attach some of those onto here for decoration.

Now that I have used up all the nice lace from those bloomers that didn’t fit, I will need to actually go buy some nice lace. ;+; All the lace I currently own is the awful scratchy lace that I got from a craft store before I could tell the difference between nice lace and crappy lace.  Or maybe the next tote bag will just not have lace on it. OR I could embroider it for decoration.

Speaking of embroidery…

I hand-sewed the hems of two random pieces of cloth to then embroider with flowers and practice stitches.  They are totally uneven and look kind of funky, but it is just for practice.

I really need to buy one of those pens for drawing the design on the fabric instead of just free hand embroidering.

On the other piece of fabric, I just made a random flowery design. I don’t know why it is flowers and antlers (or is it a weird tree?).

 

Leave a Reply

